Lessons From the Loaves for the Doubting Disciple (me)

Here are some follow-up thoughts from my last article.

LESSONS FROM THE LOAVES FOR THE DOUBTING DISCIPLE (me)

Go some place you have never gone before, to do things you have never done before, with tools and resources you do not yet have.

I see myself with some financial stress because I still can’t see all the money yet. It is as if I have been asked by Christ to help serve the bread to the multitude. I have some doubt, but I step forward and somehow this little bit of bread feeds 10 people. Phew! Wow, I didn’t think that would be enough for those 10 people. Now there is a group of 20, and I doubt that the little bit of bread that just miraculously fed 10 will be enough for the next 20. So I stress a little, I worry, “Shouldn’t I have a larger portion of bread and fish by now? I’m grateful that there was enough for the 10, but there’s no way this will work for 20 people.” So I hesitate, but Jesus Christ encourages me to step forward, and… wow! … to my amazement somehow the 20 are now full, and I still have a  little bit of bread and fish. Next there is a group of 50 that I am to share with. Once again I wonder why I don’t have a larger portion to share with the 50. There’s no way this little bit will feed 50. I don’t know how it fed the 10 and the 20, but now I have 50 people so I need a lot more. There is no way what worked to feed 20 will work to feed 50. Stress! What am I going to do? I’m for sure going to run out this time! But as I look to Christ, he encourages me to step forward… and… wow! Once again there was enough, what a relief! I can’t believe I didn’t run out!  But now Christ motions for me to feed a group of 500. Even though I just saw a miracle, I once again start looking for a larger supply of bread. Let’s get real here, there’s no way this little basket of bread and fish will feed 500. Come on, now I really need a lot of bread and fish or I am going to look stupid walking over to that group with this little basket. Why can’t I just get over it and trust that because of Christ there always has been, and always will be enough! It is just as easy for him to feed 5,000 as it is for him to feed one. I am just serving the bread, Christ is the one performing the miracle. I just need to step forward and allow Christ to use me as part of the miracle. If I don’t serve the bread, someone else will get to take part in the miracle. I’m not needed for the miracle to occur, but because of Christ’s loving kindness he will let me be part of the miracle as long as I don’t fear!

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Hope, Purpose of life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

