Forget yourself and find yourself

Often one of the best ways to get out of a slump, to pull out of negative emotions, is to forget yourself and do something for someone else. Somehow when we step outside of ourselves and give selfless service to someone else, it raises our spirits, and we find our own problems don’t seem so overwhelming. Often it gives us perspective, and we realize things aren’t as bad as they seemed. It often gives us hope regarding our own concerns, even if we still don’t have the solutions. Many, many times I have felt down about my circumstances, and then I would visit with a client. I would focus on their concern, I would put all my thoughts, prayers, and energy into helping this person. As I help another person, I forget my own problems. I’m not being irresponsible, I’m better able to see things in light and truth. I feel peace of mind regarding the unresolved problems in my life, and I know things will work out in the end. I am blessed beyond measure when I forget myself in the service of someone else. I always receive more than I give, even if what I receive can’t be seen in a bank account or other tangible measures. Jesus Christ taught, “For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.” (Matthew 16:25)
Often when we seek to “save our life” we are so preoccupied with our own problems, we become selfish in nature, and cut ourselves off from heaven’s help that would come if we would give selfless service with genuine love and compassion. As we give love, we receive love. What we send out will come back to us. What we sow we will reap.

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Hope, Purpose of life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

