Change your forecast

Everyone has a personal forecast for their life, whether they know it or not. Just as the weather forecast tells what to expect from the weather, our personal forecast is what we are expecting in our future. Many people have a forecast that destroys all peace of mind in the present. Their forecast leads them to feel stressed, hopeless, overwhelmed, anxiety, despair, etc.  Some are paralyzed with fear because of their forecast. For some it is the future of their children that they are worried about. Others are worried about the future of their finances. For some it is their fear of political problems that brings anxiety. For others it is the prospect of unhappy relationships or loneliness that brings despair. There are many types of problems that don’t seem to have solutions, and people are forecasting a life of misery and pain. These forecasts really are depressing.

What is the truth of the matter? Remember than when you align your thoughts with light and truth you will have peace of mind, hope and confidence. So if a person’s forecast brings despair and other negative emotions, that tells the person that their expectations for the future are not based on the truth of God’s desires for their future. What is God’s desire for your future? While I don’t know the details for anyone’s life, he wants your life to be happy. Does that mean he wants you to have a future with no challenges? He wants us to learn to be happy in our challenges, rather than just take the problems away. Video 4: Why Life is Hard Sometimes goes over this principle.  I believe that God wants you to have the experiences that will help you become the best person you can be. He isn’t a geni that is going to take away all of your problems. Imagine an athlete working with a coach: does the coach seek to make things easy for the athlete? The coach wants to help the athlete develop and increase his ability to perform, so he gives the athlete challenges that stretch the athlete to the extent of his ability. Only when the athlete reaches the limits of his capacity can he increase his capacity. I think God is more like a good coach, and he wants us to have experiences that stretch us. But he wants us to happy as we go through the process of becoming what we have the potential to become. Here are some general forecasts for the future that might help you feel hope:

Even though bad things will happen, I am going to be OK
Even though I don’t know the answer to this problem, and the problem might not ever be resolved, I can be happy in my life.
Whether this turns out the way I want it to or not, I am going to live a successful life.
Even if this opportunity doesn’t work out, there are still infinite opportunities in front of me.
I can’t wait to see what happens next, the best is yet to come.
Even if I die from this illness, everything is going to be alright.
Even though I can’t control the circumstances, I can control my response to these circumstances, and I choose to have hope and be at peace in imperfect circumstances.
I expect things to turn out well, even though I don’t know how yet.
I choose to trust God more than evidence around me, he sees solutions I can’t, and somehow I am going to get through this, even if it is hard
Even though this is hard, I am in the best position possible for my learning, growth, and eternal progression.

These are phrases that have helped me align my forecast with feelings of hope. It isn’t ignoring concerns, it is just seeing the future with hope.
Do you have any forecast phrases that bring you hope? Feel free to share.

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Hope and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

