What is the lie you are believing?

In video 1 and video 2 I discussed how when we are feeling negative emotions, it is because we are not seeing our concern in light and truth. If you haven’t watched those, click on the links and watch them.

I want to emphasize something in these principles. Whenever we are feeling the emotions on the dark side, it is because we are believing a lie. When we can figure out what the lie is that we are believing it is easier to get out of the darkness back into the light.  Here is an example – I was recently visiting with a client who was feeling stressed and very down. I asked if he knew what had caused it, and he wasn’t certain. After asking a few more questions we traced it back to when he found out the criteria for a job he had applied for had changed. Although he has a good job, he was hoping for this other job, but now it seemed less likely. Since he was now feeling bad in his life, I asked him, “What is the lie about this that you have been believing?” He thought about it for a minute, and we used EFT to address some of his negative emotions. He realized  some of the lies he had been believing were: because the changed the criteria I am stuck in my job, it will be impossible for me to do what I want to do; it is hopeless for me; nothing is ever going to change. Believing these thoughts brought him down. I helped him align with the truth of infinite possibilities: even though they changed the criteria, I could still get the job; if this job doesn’t pan out I can still have an awesome life and find better opportunities; I don’t have to have this other job; even if I don’t get another job I am still very blessed to be have a good paying job, and I have many other abundant blessings; whether I get this job or not I am going to be OK!

As he connected to the truth of these statements, he replaced his negative emotions with hope and optimism.  He felt much more confident about getting the job. The point here is that once we identify the lie that is bringing us down, and find the truth to replace it with, we quickly move from negative emotions of darkness to positive feelings of light. God bless you in your efforts to live in light and truth.

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Fear, Happiness, LIght vs Dark and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

