Finding Your Purpose

At times a person can feel very down in life when they aren’t living with a purpose. I know when I had a job that wasn’t connected to my purpose, every day I went to work was a struggle. It often felt like I had lead shoes when I went in, and then had wings to fly when I left work. If the activities in our life don’t have meaning and purpose, it can really bring us down. A person may just feel apathetic, or depressed. A person may feel stuck and hopeless. A person may feel anger and resentment at being stuck in this situation.

I encourage all people to live with passion and purpose. There is a reason you are here on the earth. Your life makes a difference. God didn’t send you here to just go through the motions of life without really living. Many people live lives of quite desperation.

How do you find your purpose? First of all have hope that there you have a purpose and whatever it is, there is a way to live your purpose. Even if sacrifices have to made, it can happen. Here are some self-assessment questions for you to answer that may help you get closer to discovering your purpose. Don’t put any limits on your answers to these questions, any answer is OK.

If time and money were not limiting factors, what would I love to do?
What makes me smile?
What would I love to do that would make the world a better place?
What am I good at?
What do I enjoy doing?
What childhood dreams did I give up on?
Where am I gifted or talented?
What can I do that in some way is unique to me?
What to I care about in life?
What do I have passion for?
What can I do that I would feel excitement and enthusiasm for?

As you answer these questions, write down the very first thoughts that come to your mind. Also, ponder on these questions, your answer may not come all at once. I know for me I didn’t know the best answer to these questions until I was 40 years old. I simply had not come across what my purpose was until that point in my life. I had many things that were good in my life; I had a good marriage, good kids, good health – so those things were in order. But professionally I was very unhappy, nothing seem to work out for me. Then I got some information, met some new people, learned about some alternative health techniques that I could be trained in, and BAM! I was finally doing something I really enjoyed, I was good at it, and it really brought passion into my life. I don’t know what it will be for you, I just know you have a purpose, and the sooner you align with your God-given purpose, the more you will enjoy life. It doesn’t mean there won’t be challenges, it just means it will be worth working through the challenges to live the life you are called to live!

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Hope, Purpose of life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

